Archive for February 9th, 2011

February 9, 2011

Patterns

Minnado – this is the pattern I though of when I saw your red dress; what do you think? Should I bite the bullet and sew myself one for the summer? I like the collar but I don’t know if I can carry off the housecoat style and the zip worries me too: not sewing it but using it, or misusing it! Maybe BMF or GOMT have an opinion as they have seen me in the flesh.

I bought a bundle of size 12 retro patterns some time last year on ebay because I was looking for some simple dresses to sew that wouldn’t need too much bust adjustment. I still haven’t sewn one of them so I’m challenging myself to do at least one this year.

Here’s one I might try to ease myself in gently; perhaps just the top.

In the meantime there is a new waistband needed on Miss Froo’s velour trousers, totally new pyjama trousers from El Famosisimo who has finally ripped the pair I sewed him from my dad’s old dressing gown. One of EF’s quirks is that he can’t stand wearing stiff, new fabrics and finding stuff that is pre-softened and not in floral patterns can sometimes be a bit tricky especially as at his age it is hard to find clothes to fit him from charity shops or at jumble sales.

He is bigger than a kid but not as big as an adult and it seems from my experience and evidence before my eyes that boys between about 8 and 16 destroy their clothes before they grow out of them so there is nothing left to hand down to anyone or put in a bag for charity.

I’ve moved the record player off the top of the sewing machine cabinet and put it underneath it instead so that may help with getting some sewing done….