I didn’t want to do it but I’m sewing…

Oh dear, I was sure I wasn’t going to sew anything for gifts this year but I’ve succumbed. I’ve been bitten by a Christmas shaped bug and it’s left an itchy spot that needs scratching.

I’m waiting for some fabric to arrive to sew my mum a tea bag holder that is a bit more classy than the plastic bank coin bag she is currently using to carry decaffeinated Earl Grey around. Also, I want to sew a little lipstick holder key ring or two for Miss Amoo as she has a huge collection of lip balms that she keeps losing. This tute is the favourite at the moment as it’s simple and doesn’t involve crochet.

Scratch scratch! I’m finishing a mini cross stitch thingie which replaces the one I started last year then lost the threads for half way through sewing it. I’ve got a finished one and frames to put them in so I don’t really want to leave it for another year. Unfortunately I can’t seem to do this kind of sewing without tensing my shoulders so it’s a bit stressful! I also can’t do it while I’m watching anything with subtitles so thank goodness The Killing has finished.

Scratching again, I’m sewing a fleece dressing gown for Miss Amoo from this book which my mum found in a charity shop.

IMG_5378 (768x1024)

The paper patterns tucked in the back were uncut and she thought I’d like the styles. It was published in 1978 to accompany a series of ten programmes called Children’s Wardrobe. There is an alphabetical section on sewing processes from applique to zips then detailed instructions on construction of each garment making them all easy for a beginner sewist.

Did you ever wear anything like this? It’s kind of Clothkits in feel but with more freedom over fabric choice. Can you see the zip up beach robe in the last photo? That’s the same thing as the dressing gown.

IMG_5382 (768x1024)

IMG_5381 (768x1024)

IMG_5380 (768x1024)

IMG_5379 (768x1024)

The dressing gown is now cut from left over brown fleece and the raglan bits pinned but it’s too late to sew. My neighbour is pregnant and although I used to sew late at night I’m feeling more considerate now a I’m sure she needs her sleep.

How many sewing nights left til Christmas? Are you sewing or making for Christmas

4 Comments to “I didn’t want to do it but I’m sewing…”

  1. I’ve knitted fingerless gloves as part of the boys’ Christmas presents (one of a pair still to go). I’ve also sewn a couple of quirky needle cases and bottle-top pincushions: one for dd to go with a ‘sewing tin’ of little bits of sewing equipment, and one for my sis who hasn’t sewed for years but is in need (though she doesn’t know it) of a hobby. IMO Everyone should have a hobby, preferably something creative, otherwise they have far too much head-time to fret about unimportant stuff.

    So I’ve bought her the Cath Kidston kit (book and bag-making stuff). And as part of her present I’m going to offer to give her sewing machine a clean and oiling session. She was going to send it away and get someone else to deal with it (for a small fortune), but even someone as mechanically-challenged as me can manage to take a few screws out and poke fluff out of the crevices. I hope.

    I suspect my family think I’m weird and wonder why I don’t do the normal thing and just buy a CD 🙂

  2. p.s. I’m sure I had one of those beach robes as a kid. Probably made out of terry towelling curtains (green and yellow flowery circles). But then I recollect *everything* being made out of that material when I was a child. Maybe I’m just traumatised by my home-made 1970s childhood wardrobe 🙂

  3. Nic, I hope everyone loved their gifts and you manage to get your sister’s machine working better. It’s usually fluff and bad tension that makes people want to throw them out of the window and you can fix both those I’m sure:)

    Miss Amoo loves her new dressing gown and has worn it for several hours a day as it’s so cold in the house. It was really easy to sew up as I didn’t finish the sleeves or bottom hem. I finished it with a massive chunky zip from Masons and attached her lippy holder to the zip pull which apparently meant that these two things counted as one gift…. cheeky!

    I also put a gathered skirt bit onto a dress bodice that I sewed for Miss Froo almost a year ago then didn’t finish as I ran out of denim. She loved it and wore it all Christmas day which was nice.

  4. WELL IT SEEMS U LOVE YOUR LIFE AT FULL BUT WHY STILL THIS GUILT OF NOT FINISHING WHAT U STARTED ALWAYS LEAVE THINGS HALF WAY IT WONT MATTER OR IT IT an anyway atole its seems u know a great deal of mexican things dont u by the way im a very good modist or how u called sewist im make my own clothes in traditional patterns

Leave a Reply

