Nothing New but still Me-Made-Maying

My head is full of patterns but I’m not sewing anything. Not even Me Made May has broken my inertia sadly. Never mind.

I’ve had a couple of days when the only me made bits have been undies or a vest. Wednesday was like that as I went to an uninspiring zumba class and didn’t get hot and sweaty so stayed in my ‘sports wear’ all day eek! I’m not keen on sporty looks in general but these trousers are so comfy.

Here are some looks from this week.

This is a half circle skirt which I sewed last year from some fabric my mum bought in Ikea. I made the waist larger than I needed so I didn’t sew the side seam up but overlapped it and added poppers from waist to hip. I’m wearing it with an ancient t shirt and an ebay cardi that didn’t look this colour on the listing… and it was warm that day so I got the crocs out

This was a chillier day so it’s the long grey wrap skirt of old with a long sleeved tee and a loose kind of waistcoat I cut from one of Mr G’s old jumpers. More poppers on this one! I have yet to sew a successful buttonhole.

On Thursday I took a risk and walked to town without a coat for the first time this year. I wore a blue t-shirt, the same grey skirt and same bright cardi again with a me-made drawstring bag. Do you like the girls’ stick collection?

Today is sunny but chilly indoors as we’ve got the doors open and kids running in and out

I started off with just the skirt, t-shirt and cardi then added the over knee socks and scarf after lunch. My hair is a mess so I’ve got a wide headband on to hide it. The skit is my old four gore denim with frayed hem, I knitted the scarf for Mr G two winters ago and the hair hider is upcycled from a cotton voile maternity top.

Ummm I think I might wear a different cardi next week! I’ve got a summer skirt that needs hemming which I might do later on and chant some spells to bring weather warm enough to wear it while I’m sewing.

5 Comments to “Nothing New but still Me-Made-Maying”

  1. I really like your Ikea fabric skirt and the waistcoat you made from Mr G’s old jumper. I think poppers add something different to a garment. Buttonholes are still a bit hit and miss for me.

    • I like poppers too and I have lots in different colours. I’m wary of using them on absolutely everything though as they look a bit like I can’t sew buttons on and that isn’t very grown up!

  2. I think that Me Made May can sow some sewing madness, but I keep reminding myself that one point of the challenge is to remind ourselves that we can make do with what we have. And sometimes it leads to some new ways of wearing our creations, like you have pulled together. I particularly like that upcycled vest with the snaps and the denim skirt looks so easy to wear.

    • I think sometimes the perspective you have gets lost in the me-made madness so thank you for saying it. I have kind of broken my sewing lull this week by sewing some new undies from a stripy t-shirt I got from the last swap shop I went to. Purple stripes and pink picot elastic – what’s not to like?

  3. The recfashioned sweater with snaps looks good and I like the half circle skirt too. Going out without a coat?/ You are brave! very impressive stick collection too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

