Back from the Big Smoke

Wow! That is just for starters. Birmingham’s World Famous Rag Market is really something else.I have never seen so many fabric notions in my life. Ribbons, trim, pom-pom edging, beaded zips, twinkling, jingling, jangling things in all colours and designs and so many mind boggling things to dazzle the senses. Who knew that I could find all this a mere hour and a bit away from home?

I am getting too used to living in a small town! Birmingham was busy, busy, busy with people everywhere I looked and some of the buildings were amazing. Queuing to get up an escalator was a novelty as we don’t even have any buildings with escalators here in our town!

Anyhow enough with the awe-struck city cum country girl thing and onto the business of the day. Scruffy Badger and Minnado had organised the Birmingham rendezvous for like minded bloggers to get together to buy fabric and that is what we did – as well as eat a bit and drink a bit and chat a bit. I didn’t take my camera so if you want to see what we saw you can pop over to Scruffy’s to have a look.

What I brought home was this little lot:

This is a metre of lovely soft brushed cotton which was one of the most expensive fabrics I bought at a whopping £5 per metre. It will probably become a smock or pinafore for Miss Froo

This is only half a meter but it was too lovely not to have a little bit of it. I will probably make it into purses our use it to accent something else. The green-ish fabric underneath is a herringbone sort of wool-feel which is satin backed. I got a metre for a skirt and some of the others also bought some as for only £1 per metre it looked very useful as it won’t need lining.

Next are two knits, both for me. The blue one will be a long sleeved top and cost something horrendous like £3 per metre and the white patterned one might be a vest or scarf and cost just £1

This purple and black striped knit has a lovely handle and is said to be Marks & Spencer quality. It certainly feels like it and it has washed beautifully. This will be a top for Miss Amoo once she settles on a pattern she likes.

Only four more things to see – hang on in there!

Some grey stretch suiting which I hope to make trousers from – probably New Look 6190

Stretch lace with a scalloped edge? Who knew such a thing existed? Half a metre will make some glamorous undies to sit alongside my upcycled jersey t-shirt undies in the drawer.

Then to the notions and some swaps. Thank you to Mimi for the pattern and Sarah for the letter A brooch. Miss Amoo loved it as much as she loved the purple paisley ribbon! The wild velvet ribbon is to re-hem my orange wool skirt for a new winter, the beige-ish velvet ribbon is to hide the fraying bits of the neckline of a jumper (thanks to Mimi again for this idea) The bundle of cream elastic is for edging undies with and I also bought some jumbo ric-rac in golden yellow and turquoise but these have been hidden away by Miss Amoo and bits already used to make badges with – see below!

So that’s all the fabric purchases. I also bought a little envelope of Bay leaves for 40p and some beaded bangles and mango lollies which brought the grand spend total to a very decent £37.20. I was so pleased to have been able to get such a variety of fabrics despite not being able to get any fleece backed sweatshirt material for some trousers for Miss Amoo which was on my list.

All in all it was a fantastic afternoon out with some lovely ladies and I am looking forward to sewing all this fabric up over the next few months and then perhaps meeting you all again one day. Next time I won’t order soup so that I can eat with a bit more decorum like the rest of you!

6 Comments to “Back from the Big Smoke”

  1. Wow, your trip to the big city looks to have been very exciting. Can’t wait to see what comes of all that gorgeous fabric. I particularly drool over that green wool!

  2. It was such a good day. I really enjoyed meeting you for real and hope we meet up again. Thank you for the pattern – I am thinking of how to use it and the little vests are stashed away in my baby things box under the bed! Still thinking of how wonderful your coat is! I am intirgued to see what you make from £1 per metre green fabric as I bought some too, we can compare notes….
    x

  3. Yay! What a haul!! I am going to watch you make with interest. We share the grey trousering … But I too am interested in the green! It was so lovely meeting you and it was such a fun day. I will have you plus super size soup as one of the images of the day!!

  4. It was such a fun day! Can’t wait to see what you make from your haul! Lovely to meet you!

  5. Ahh, you really did do well! It was lovely to meet you and now to discover your blog! I’m glad the A has gone to a good home too.
    Sarah

  6. Sounds like you’ve got a fab stash there. Keep us posted on the results!

Leave a Reply

