I’m still standing

My mum came to stay this weekend and was surprised to find that J could identify Elton John singing on a tape in her car. The boys love 1970s Elton and play him on youtube along with Eric Clapton and other now ageing gigsters. I like a bit of Elton too and I am still standing at the ‘puter, feeling the benefit in my legs, back and neck now that I’m not twisting myself up oddly to sit on a chair in front of the desk.

She (my mum) thought we could spend the weekend in the garden or doing some serious decluttering or something as May is the month of the Sensuous Home in The Book we are both reading. The downpours put the garden thoughts to bed and then we had a cup of tea and couldn’t be bothered with the house either!

I’d been checking local listings the night before as mum had rung to say there must be something we could do on Saturday night. THis being a small town and not the big smoke meant it was comedy or choral for Saturday night but the daytimes looked much more her kind of thing. On Saturday we visited a couple of Oxfordshire Art Weeks homes and saw beautiful knitting, painting, sculpture, ceramics, needle-felting, stained glass and more. It is quite an odd thing to drive to a little village, look out for the yellow and blue banner and then walk into someone’s garden and hope they won’t mind you knocking on their door to look at their work.

We had tea and cake and chatted to all sorts of people and even J saw some things he liked. Being out with him made me think that perhaps we are many creative women who create for ourselves and other women.There was much that he admired but not much that he felt he would like to own. Mum saw something she liked which reminded her of a painting of my Nan’s so I’m going to see if I can get it for her birthday.

That night we ate with the boys without any bickering, drank wine and then walked into town to sat in a pub garden in the rain under a parasol and our umbrella, which was strangely nice.

On Sunday we went to Dorchester on Thames to the last day of their Festival
where we saw more beautiful things and ate the most fantastic cake then trekked along Dyke Hills and back round the village via the allotments and the tiniest Co-op in the county.

It is amazing to stand on ground which was inhabited so long ago and see a view of hills and ridges which I assume is much as it would have been then but for the Power Station in the distance.

Needless to say, the two days were full of talking and listening and much as we usually enjoy the company and insightfulness of Misses Amoo and Froo it is so nice to talk to each other without interruptions.

The reason for our amazingly peaceful weekend was that the girls had gone to the seaside with Mr G to visit his folks. After a long history of them sweeping stuff under a rug that is now almost too lumpy to climb over, I decided a while back that I wouldn’t spend time with the in laws any more and I have saved myself a lot of physical anxiety since. They all have a whale of a time and come back grateful to find food in the fridge and their comfortable beds at home.

I kept the work phone so Mr G could spend the weekend with a head free from the BlueDoor Monster. He is usually at the beck and call of the Blackberry and he really does need a rest from it sometimes.

Not many people called me but normal mad service resumed on Monday with the the Monster being fed once again by the general public who give it stuff that makes it roar. Mr G’s angels were with him this morning though and have brought new business to our door so the Monster will soon be supping on some tastier morsels.

I have been doing a bit of sewing but a fairy keeps stealing the batteries I am charging to put in the camera and haven’t taken any photos lately. There are too many fairy gadgets in the house that require four or more AA batteries……..

Leave a Reply

