A long thing with a hook on the end

About a year or so ago I saw an odd thing in my favourite charity shop

I had no idea what this thing was for so I googled it when I got home and found all sorts of interesting things about it on youtube. Once I knew what it was I went back the next day to part with 30p and brought it home. Did you notice the vintage Woolworths price sticker on the packet? Those were the days.

I had some thick yarn a friend had given me so I used that to experiment a bit. I made a very thick and curled up thing about 30 stitches wide and a foot long which is so densely woven and stiff that I have no idea what to do with it! The novelty wore off and the hook/needle was put in the drawer.

The other night I was sorting through some piles of paper and came across a pattern for crochet granny squares but I couldn’t understand a word of it; too much ch this and 3dc that and other stuff I didn’t recognise. Then I wondered if I could crochet normally with the huge Tunisian crochet hook instead of doing Tunisian Crochet with it again and whether some strips of t-shirt I had cut up ages ago when those t-shirt necklaces were all the rage would do as ‘yarn’.

It turns out that I can crochet a bit if I watch it done by a very patient and slow moving lady on youtube and click pause a lot. Here is my first ever crocheted thing made with t-shirt strips

I was so tickled pink with this new thing that I started another one which turned out to be big enough to sit a big fat pillar candle on it which is good because the stretchiness of the strips made the things want to curl up if not pressed down by something. The words crochet and curl seem to occur rather often in my crafting vocabulary. Perhaps my tension is off? (I don’t really care though, so take that as a rhetorical question)

Now the question is: does my mum really need or want a crocheted thingummyjig for Christmas?

2 Comments to “A long thing with a hook on the end”

  1. Excellent. I must learn to crochet. I want to make a fluorescent granny blanket.

  2. Oh yes she does!!!! They love that sort of thing don’t they? So much nicer than video games…..

Leave a Reply

