Can you see? Can they see?

I’m speaking totally literally here. When was the last time you had an eye test? Or your little people had an eye test?

EF couldn’t see the tv from more than 2ft away by the time he was six and has worn glasses now for ten years. He couldn’t see friend’s faces in the park or playground and was becoming less willing to rush about. J has got to thirteen with perfect eyesight and Miss Amoo is also ok but at the age where she is moving towards short sightedness. Miss Froo is four and can see a lot of far away objects but I will take her for an appointment next year too.

The only reason I know this is because all three of them get their eyes tested regularly. J is only going every two years now as they are bored of telling him that there is no problem and he is bored of choosing frames only to find that he still doesn’t need them! EF and Miss Amoo are still on yearly appointments.

Not being able to see well makes little people more cautious because their world is fuzzy at the edges and it can also stop them wanting to pick up books and start reading.

Seeing EF when he first got his glasses was like seeing a new little boy: he was obviously able to see much more than he had before and loved pointing out things that were beyond his previous limits of vision.

In case you hadn’t considered taking yourself or your children for an eye test did you know that:

Children are entitled to free eye tests
They don’t have to be able to read to have their eyes tested
Identifying a lazy eye and helping it resolve early could save your child’s sight
Eye tests include looking at the eye itself and checking that it is healthy.
Some children previously thought to have dyslexia and behavioural problems may just be poor sighted
Glasses are cool!
Eye tests can diagnose other health issues

Make an appointment and see if you could see better.

Tags:

One Comment to “Can you see? Can they see?”

  1. We did the eye test thing last year and I did feel a tad nervous about explaining that my then 8 yo and 6 yo were ‘not reading just yet’ (I hate saying ‘can’t read’ as it sounds negative) and it was fine. No third degree. They could do the letters thing, although I was holding my breath, and felt very proud that they got it all ‘right’. It’s not so much because I would be embarrassed had they got the letters wrong but I worry that they would be embarrassed themselves in front of ‘other people’. (Also it would have been a bit less clear about the sight itself – was the letter not seen clearly or did they just guess wrong etc…) But all was well and I do feel alot better that their eyes have been tested now as I am a speccy 4-eyes myself. I think the boys were very proud of themselves too.

    And a later weird development is that my perfectly well-sighted daughter has taken to wearing clear glasses just cos she thinks it’s cool.

    The whole thing was a million times more pleasant than some ‘health’ check thing my daughter did in her first school when she was about 5 when the nazi nurse really turned on me when she discovered she hadn’t had the bleedin’ MMR jab. I still marvel at my self-control that day when I managed to speak calmly without kicking the bitch in her arrogant face. Yay me! But it has coloured my thinking when I am in similar positions. Thankfully the optician obviously had more important things on her minds than bullying rogue parents.

    It’s always a relief when you meet nice ‘normal’ accepting people rather than the box tickers.

Leave a Reply

