Ottobre Design and Recycling

I first read about Ottobre Design on SewingMamas.com The clothes those mamas made from these patterns were gorgeous and I spent a lot of time looking at all the magazines and deciding which one to buy.

The whole process of tracing patterns and adding seam allowances looked time consuming and complicated so I thought just one magazine would be enough to start with.

I bought the one called 1/2008 It has two covers which look like this:

What I like about the magazine is that there are clothes for babies, toddlers, boys and girls and even big kids up to 170cm. I have made trousers and tops for my girls and adapted a couple of patterns too. I have also traced a pair of joggers for my older boys but not yet sewn them. The tracing is a bit mind boggling at first but you get used to it. I use thick plastic sheeting which I can trace on with a Sharpie then label and roll or fold up to store them. My traced patterns don’t rip when I pin them which is really great too.

In fact, there is such a wide variety of basics in the one magazine that I haven’t bought another!

Here are some trousers I sewed for Miss Amoo from the pattern called Jump. The pattern is for sweatpants but she wanted denim so I sewed them from a pair of jeans that we had found hanging in a bush near the cycle path. Strange but true. There was only just enough width in the legs to get this bootcut shape and the hem is just overlocked because there was no more length. The bleaching is from rain and sun I presume! The waistband is ribbing harvested from a sweatshirt that belonged to my dear old Dad who is no longer with us.

I have since used this pattern to make her a pair in a black knit which was bought from our local fabric shop which is our second favourite shop. For those I used ribbing from a t shirt I found at a jumble sale. Ribbing is so hard to find in the UK and I balk at the thought of buying it by the metre online.

Circumstance makes me a frugal sewist but don’t see that as a disadvantage despite my periodic envy of the fabric stashes of other sewists who blog. I love how the original garment leads you to the new garment and the lack of anxiety when cutting into an old shirt as opposed to cutting into a meter of new fabric.

If you are into upcycling and refashioning you may already have looked at Wardrobe Refashion but if not, have a look and get some more inspiration.

2 Responses to “Ottobre Design and Recycling”

  1. Just use a double tracing wheel (Clover) and carbon paper (any stationery shop/ebay). You get an automatic seam allowance and perfect pattern replication.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

