Getting Away

As the weather looked to stay hot all week, the girls and I went camping for a couple of nights at our favourite camping place, Burnbake, near Corfe Castle.

It was so good to get away from the domestic grind, work and suburbia. There is very little to do when you don’t have to tidy up floors or process laundry, wash up dishes or answer the phone or send emails or listen to drilling, banging and radios blaring. Three of our near neighbours are doing building work and it was starting to drive me a little bit mad.

IMG_2074 (1024x768)

IMG_2073 (1024x768)

So, the tranquillity of a campsite far from a road was a welcome change. I did nothing and the girls played. Then I read a book and they played. Then we went on a mega walk to Studland Bay which was well worth the journey but ended up being our longest walk ever at just over 7 miles in all!

Here we are on the outward leg of the journey. Miss Froo wouldn’t wear a hat so she was using the ‘parasol’. This is the view from the top of a hill overlooking Poole harbour

IMG_2040 (1024x768)

This is an amazing rock that was in our path. It’s called Agglestone Rock and it’s a local oddity as no-one really knows how it got there

IMG_2045 (1024x768)

The beach was a very welcome sight but there was plenty of digging needing to be done. Whenever we go to a beach with J he always starts digging a hole and last year in Lyme Regis he dug one so deep that when he stood in it we couldn’t see him! The girls still have a way to go to beat that.

IMG_2060 (768x1024)

I totally forgot to take my swimmers so ended up swimming in my me-made undies and a crepe Novita top that I was wearing. Both dried out well on the walk back! My me-made wardrobe served me well: I only took two tops, a vest, a skirt and a dress and they were just what the weather called for. Has it ever been so hot in July????

 

Now we are home again, the building work continues but I am refreshed. Another bonus of camping is that it re-sets my nocturnal clock back to a diurnal one and I’ve been getting up at 8.30 since we got back. It’s quite nice to sit in the garden reading at that time and the day is very long when I don’t start it at 11am! I’m reading Simon Jenkins’ A Short History of England which I’ve borrowed from J. It isn’t a light read, unlike the latest Rebus which I borrowed from El Famosisimo and finished in a day. It’s great to have boys who buy books that I want to read :)

3 Comments to “Getting Away”

  1. The camping looks great, I was tempted to take my lot camping but am a bit chicken about the 18 month old and what she’d be like! How great to have sons who buy books you want to read! I look forward to that. :)

    • Camping with a toddler is a bit more challenging, yes. They aren’t very helpful when putting up a tent or staying close so you can see them! Tee cabin you went to in the spring looks like a much better bet but probably isn’t quite the bargain holiday that camping is!

  2. Looks fab! What a lovely-looking campsite. Heading off for some camping ourselves in the next few days and taking lots of shade with us.

    Debbie, when we used to take ours camping, from about 8 months and up, we always used to take along a child-friendly slightly juvenile-minded (in the best way) couple who didn’t have any children of their own. They were always great at entertaining the kids in the morning and evenings, but would go and ‘do their own thing’ during the day. On one occasion we woke to find my son and our friend in the middle of a field playing air guitar with a badminton racquet. Apparently my son had got up at 6am and woken him up so they could play!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

